Shohei Ohtani, Ronald Acuña Jr. lead Silver Slugger winners, while Rangers and Braves take inaugural team awards

HOUSTON, TX - OCTOBER 15:   Corey Seager #5 and Marcus Semien #2 of the Texas Rangers prepare to bat in the first inning during during Game 1 of the ALCS between the Texas Rangers and the Houston Astros at Minute Maid Park on Sunday, October 15, 2023 in Houston, Texas. (Photo by Daniel Shirey/MLB Photos via Getty Images)

MLB recognized the top offensive players at each position Wednesday with the annual Silver Slugger awards, a group unsurprisingly led by MVP favorites Shohei Ohtani and Ronald Acuña Jr.

Mookie Betts, Juan Soto, Julio Rodríguez and Luis Arráez were the only players to see repeat wins. In the case of Soto, the San Diego Padres star tied Mike Trout for the most Silver Sluggers before turning 25 with his fourth win, per’s Sarah Langs.

The most competitive race would’ve been first base in the National League, where Freddie Freeman of the Los Angeles Dodgers and Matt Olson of the Atlanta Braves were both MVP candidates. Freeman had the superior numbers when it came to pure hitting, including an MLB-leading 59 doubles, while Olson led MLB in home runs and RBI.

In the end, the Silver Slugger voters (made up of MLB managers and coaches) voted for the long ball with Olson.

This year’s edition of the Silver Slugger awards saw the introduction of a team category, recognizing the best offensive team in each league. The inaugural winners were the Atlanta Braves and Texas Rangers, who were, not coincidentally, the top-scoring teams of their respective leagues.

Here’s the full list of winners:

American League Silver Slugger winners

1B: Yandy Díaz, Tampa Bay Rays
2B: Marcus Semien, Texas Rangers
SS: Corey Seager, Texas Rangers
3B: Rafael Devers, Boston Red Sox
OF: Kyle Tucker, Houston Astros
OF: Julio Rodríguez, Seattle Mariners
OF: Luis Robert Jr., Chicago White Sox
C: Adley Rutschman, Baltimore Orioles
DH: Shohei Ohtani, Los Angeles Angels
Utility: Gunnar Henderson, Baltimore Orioles
Team: Texas Rangers

National League Silver Slugger winners

1B: Matt Olson, Atlanta Braves
2B: Luis Arráez, Miami Marlins
SS: Francisco Lindor, New York Mets
3B: Austin Riley, Atlanta Braves
OF: Ronald Acuña Jr., Atlanta Braves
OF: Mookie Betts, Los Angeles Dodgers
OF: Juan Soto, San Diego Padres
C: William Conteras, Milwaukee Brewers
DH: Bryce Harper, Philadelphia Phillies
Utility: Cody Bellinger, Chicago Cubs
Team: Atlanta Braves

You can read the full list of the Silver Sluggers’ defensive counterpart, the Gold Gloves, here. No player won both awards at the same position this year.

MLB will hand out its major awards next week, with the Rookie of the Year on Monday, Manager of the Year on Tuesday, Cy Young on Wednesday and MVP on Thursday.

Source link

About The Author

Scroll to Top